Environment

Environmental Advantages of Natural Gas

At the COP21 conference on climate in Paris, the global community expressed its commitment to the reduction of harmful emissions into the atmosphere. Together with renewable energy sources, natural gas, being an environmentally friendly fuel, can play a significant role in the development of low-carbon economy of the future, and in achievement of targets stipulated at COP21.

The substitution of coal by natural gas in power generation can significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions (“carbon footprint”) and pollutant emissions (“toxic footprint”): nitrogen oxides – by up to 32%, sulfur dioxide – by up to 99%, carbon monoxide – by up to 68%, ash and soot – by up to 100%, carbon dioxide – by up to 50%. In many regions of the world, use of gas can prevent smoke fog and impact positively on the environment and people’s health.

Natural gas can become a basis for the future low-carbon energy. Gazprom already performs practical projects to develop innovative technologies to product methane hydrogen mixes and hydrogen from natural gas without carbon dioxide emissions. 

Gasification of transport also offers good opportunities. It is estimated that using gas as  motor fuel can reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 25-30% in comparison with petrol and diesel fuel. “Toxic footprint” of NGV for the whole production chain is three times smaller than by petrol-engine cars, and five times smaller than by diesel ones. More detailed information is in Gas Motor Fuel Section.

 

Compliance with Environmental Standards in Projects' Development

Gazprom pays much attention to environment protection issues while implementing its infrastructure projects to supply natural gas to its clients abroad. All in all, over €100 mln was invested within Nord Stream and Nord Stream 2 projects in studies of environment impact evaluation and in holding public hearings aimed at ensuring minimal environmental and social impact.

Close attention to environment protection is paid in implementation of TurkStream project as well. Gazprom has invested large amounts in engineering research and studies of routes and environment, to develop a project of a safe offshore gas pipeline. Part of this work is a preparation of environmental impact assessment reports for Russia and Turkey.

Environmental issues are extremely important in implementation of Power of Siberia gas pipeline project from Russia to China. To minimize the impact, Power of Siberia route is drafted to pass mainly over open wood and old fire sites. In addition, rapid-deployed self-propelled river crossings are used in the construction. Their advantages include absence of middle supports for a passage over a river, brook, or ravine, which is very important to preserve the eco-systems.


Authorities of China in the Five-Year Plan of Gas Industry Development confirmed that increase of natural gas share in the energy balance will be a key method to tackle the air pollution problem, and the gas should become ‘one of the major energy resources’. Significant part of new demand for imported natural gas in China can be met by Russian gas supply.

Экология

Экологические преимущества природного газа

В ходе Конференции по климату в Париже COP21 мировое сообщество выразило свою приверженность достижению целей по сокращению вредных выбросов в атмосферу. Наряду с возобновляемыми источниками энергии, огромную роль в построении низкоуглеродной экономики будущего и выполнении целей, закреплённых на COP21, может сыграть природный газ — наиболее экологически чистое ископаемое топливо.

Замещение угля природным газом в энергетике может заметно снизить как выбросы парниковых газов («углеродный след»), так и выбросы загрязняющих веществ («токсический след»): оксидов азота — до 32%, диоксида серы — до 99%, оксида углерода — до 68%, золы, сажи — на 100%, диоксида углерода — до 50%. Во многих регионах мира это предотвратит формирование смога, благотворно повлияет на окружающую среду и здоровье населения. 

Природный газ может стать основой будущей низкоуглеродной энергетики. Газпром уже сейчас ведет практическую работу по развитию инновационных технологий производства метано-водородных смесей и водорода из природного газа без выбросов диоксида углерода. 

Хорошие возможности открывает и газификация транспорта. По имеющимся оценкам, использование природного газа в качестве моторного топлива позволит сократить выбросы парниковых газов на 25–30% по сравнению с уровнем выбросов при использовании бензина и дизельного топлива. «Токсический след» газомоторного автомобиля, для всей производственной цепочки, в три раза меньше, чем у бензинового, и в пять раз меньше, чем у дизельного. Подробности в разделе «Газомоторное топливо». 

 

Соблюдение экологических стандартов при реализации проектов

Большое внимание вопросам защиты окружающей среды Газпром уделяет при реализации инфраструктурных проектов для поставок природного газа своим клиентам за рубежом. Так, в рамках проектов «Северный поток» и «Северный поток-2» более 100 млн евро было инвестировано в исследования оценки воздействия на окружающую среду, цель которых — гарантировать минимальное экологические и социальное воздействие.

Пристальное внимание вопросам сохранения окружающей среды уделяется и при реализации проекта «Турецкий поток». Газпром вложил значительные средства в инженерные разработки, исследования маршрута и окружающей среды, чтобы создать проект безопасного морского газопровода. Частью этой работы являлась подготовка отчетов об Оценке воздействия на окружающую среду (ОВОС) в России и Турции.

Вопросы экологии играют важнейшую роль и при реализации проекта газопровода «Сила Сибири» из России в Китай. Для минимизации воздействия на окружающую среду маршрут «Силы Сибири» проложен преимущественно по участкам редколесья и старых гарей — лесным территориям с деревьями, погибшими от пожара. Также при строительстве используются быстроразвертываемые самоходные мостовые переходы. В числе их преимуществ — устройство перехода через реку, ручей, овраг без промежуточной опоры, что имеет существенное значение для сохранения экосистемы.


В Пятилетнем плане развития газовой промышленности власти КНР официально подтвердили, что одним из ключевых путей решения проблемы загрязнения воздуха станет увеличение доли природного газа в энергобалансе, который должен стать одним из основных видов энергоресурсов. Существенная часть дополнительных потребностей Китая в импортном природном газе может быть обеспечена за счёт поставок российского «голубого топлива».